Oulipost 15 — Prisoner’s Constraint: no new no

Image

SOURCE

Woodfill, D.S., ‘Phoenix Fire Department Can’t Account for 850 Keys’, The Arizona Republic, 15 April 2014, Online edition <http://www.azcentral.com/story/news/local/phoenix/2014/04/14/phoenix-fire-missing-keys/7724577/&gt; [accessed 17 April 2014]

PROMPT

Imagine a prisoner whose supply of paper is restricted. To put it to fullest use, he will maximize his space by avoiding any letter extending above or below the line (b, d,f,g,h,j,k,l,p,q,t and y) and use only a,c,e,m,n,o,r,s,u,v,w,x and z. Compose a poem using only words that can be made from these letters AND which you source from your newspaper text.

NOTES

I decided to take just a couple of words and play with them visually.  I didn’t like the results I was getting in MS Word WordArt, so I moved to GIMP and used the perspective tool to distort the text.  Then I played with gradients.  Then I moved it ArtRage and played with the palette knife, layer blending and stickers.  Yeah, I overdid it.

Oh, and this is a day late.  An emergency computer virus scan took up so much of the day yesterday that I fell asleep while it was running.  And I went on catching up on sleep for thirteen (count ’em, thirteen) hours. 

#Oulipost #NaPoWriMo2014

 

 

Leave a Reply

